Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need help about rebuild and swap questions--- please help !!

Old 04-27-2003, 02:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help about rebuild and swap questions--- please help !!

Alright-- I'm not stupid here and I'm not a newbie.. I just have some concerns and opinion questions for you guys.

Here is my dillema.. It is a VERY similar dilemma to what you guys all have. I have a 91 LS with everything finished except for the power department. My stock motor has bolt ons, an S1 tranny and 151k miles on it.. It pulls VERY good but I'm sure its on its last legs.. So its now time to do something real deal motor wise..

I am seriously torn deciding to swap or build.. I stay up at not going over the pro's and cons of each option..

I have thought considerably about building my LS or buying a used LS to build. I can have the car down for a while so thats not my concern. One of my concerns is reliablilty. If I were to do a rebuild on my LS- can you actually create a motor that is near new? I mean- replacing rods-pistons-gaskets etc is great. But your block, sleeves, passages etc all have 151k miles on them.. Oil squirters and everything.. I'm just concerned that rebuilding my higher milage LS is like putting a strong band aid on my problem.. I also cant decide if I would rebuild for boost later on or for middle of the road compression and juice for the track.. I have gone through the turbo thing with my 95 Probe GT.. I put down 265whp and 258 tq.. But the thing was constant maintence and no reliability. I'm hesitant to dip into the turbo game again but I am 100% aware it is the only way for BIG power.. But-- also if I want the BIG power-- I need sleeves and stand alone..