Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Ls integra soon to be type r swapped need some advice

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2012, 05:10 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ls integra soon to be type r swapped need some advice

I am going to be performing a type r swap on my 99 LS integra and need some advice/ help. I have a very strong mechanical and electrical back ground. I am a former BMW master tech so the swap it's self is no issue my questions are wire harness related. 1) does anyone know what wires will need to be added to the vehicle I will be using the harness that's supplied with the engine. And two) will the type r header bolt up to my existing cat? And are there any other figment issues or any engine/ transmission issues that should be looked at or replaced before its in the car

Thanks a bunch
Old 08-19-2012, 01:41 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Ls integra soon to be type r swapped need some advice

You will have to wire in a vtec wire for sure, I'm not sure if ur R motor has a knock sensor but that would have to be wired too, also the cat fitment will depend on what type of header u have... I have a cdm type r and I believe the cat on cdm/usdm type r's is shorter in length than Jdm type r cats which affect header/cat fitment, also jdm headers have a2.5" colector and usdm r headers are 2.25 like which is what ur ls cat should be. that's all I can think of off the top of my head
Old 08-19-2012, 01:59 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 23 Likes on 19 Posts

Originally Posted by aaron_drifter
I will be using the harness that's supplied with the engine.
Use your original harness from the car getting the engine transplant. That's typically rule of thumb.
Old 08-19-2012, 02:46 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by AllMtrRex