Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

H22A Swap info.

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2003, 04:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default H22A Swap info.

Hey guys, this is my first post here. I'm pretty new to the whole import scene, so take it easy on me. =p

Anyway, let me tell you my situation. I recently bought a 94 Civic DX (coupe) for $1000, the motor in it is a little SOHC 1.5L (d15, yes?) So I'm thinking about doing a swap.

I've been researching swaps on the internet for about 2 months now, and I've found myself leaning towards the H22A. I dont want to do any high speed street racing, only quartermile for me. So I think this motor will fit me well. The only thing that I question about it is the reliability factor. I've read things about it being to heavy, snapping axles, not being able to lower the car, & etc.

So what I would like to do is just make a list of questions that you all can answer. (If willing to of course.) Here we go:

1. Has there been an axle/mount combo found that completely gets rid of the axles problems?

2. Is there a suspention setup that counterbalances the extra weight of the H22A?

3. Has anyone been able to lower their car without axle problems? (or problems with the oilpan)

Hmm... I swear I had atleast 10 questions to post here, but they've all seemed to escape at the moment. If you guys could answer these while I remember the rest, I would be very grateful. Thanks.
Old 01-13-2003, 06:52 PM

Default Re: H22A Swap info. (Reff)

Run DSS axles and lower your car around 1.5 maybe 2.0 inches. 90-03 teg axles were not made to handle the power of an H22 thats why they break. And the bigger the wheel and rim the more stress you place on the axles.

Run a higher spring rate in the front, most set ups offer custom rates. 94-up teg rates work fine.
Old 01-13-2003, 10:10 PM

Default Re: H22A Swap info. (h22 civ)