Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion

Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion (https://honda-tech.com/forums/)
-   Hybrid / Engine Swaps (https://honda-tech.com/forums/hybrid-engine-swaps-18/)
-   -   F23a ek swap internal dizzy (https://honda-tech.com/forums/hybrid-engine-swaps-18/f23a-ek-swap-internal-dizzy-3326814/)

StarBwoy1 09-04-2018 06:32 AM

F23a ek swap internal dizzy

Morning. So i recently put a f23a motor my 97 ek coupe. I used the d16y8 wire harness and wired up the injectors, crank sensor and the dizzy car starts up and drives but im getting a check engine light with code 4, 14 and 21 not worried about code 14 for the idle air control valve beacause of the 3 wire to 2 wire. And code 21 for vtech i think i mixed up the wire harness. The issue im having is code 4 for the crank position. Not sure what i did wrong. Yes i am new to this fourm and have done plenty research n everbody is just saying its the samr as a h swap. And or they used a diffrent dizzy on there swap

hondamark35 09-07-2018 09:56 AM

Re: F23a ek swap internal dizzy

the Y8 has the TDC and CKP inside the distributor, but the F23 has them at the crank pulley (oil pump housing). the Y8 has the CKF at the crank pulley, but I don't know for sure if the F23 uses a CKF. on the Y8 harness, the wires for the TDC and CKP are at the distributor connector. if the pulse count (number of trigger lobes) is the same, you can just run the wires to the sensors on the F23 oil pump housing.

did you try mounting the Y8 distributor to the F23 head?

Budgetbandit 09-14-2018 07:58 PM

sounds like a head ache to me lol

StarBwoy1 09-15-2018 08:13 AM

So for the late response, so i had a friend of mine redo the wire harness thinking it was something to do with that. Come to find out im getting spark. Its my injectors from cylinder 2-3 that are not getting ground. Still cant figure out why if its getting voltage

JRCivic1 09-16-2018 10:55 AM