Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

EG Hatchback RWD Conversion Ideas

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2019, 10:51 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default EG Hatchback RWD Conversion Ideas

I'll say this up front just to be clear- I'm just in the beginning planning stages for a build within the next couple years. I don't have the ability to start this right away, but I do plan on doing something starting in about a year from now. I'm open to suggestions, as I'm fairly new to the world of cars. I do plan on doing a good chunk of the fab work myself, which will both save money and add time to the project, and I'm OK with that. I think I like the idea of a RWD setup using a K24 motor, but I've had the idea of a J32 also floating around...

I currently daily drive a 1992 Honda Civic VX hatchback, bone stock. It is actually in pretty good shape, motor runs great, and by this time next year I plan to have it essentially totally rebuilt (to stock-ish) with a few upgrades like suspension and some creature comforts, as I really do enjoy driving the car and love the gas mileage and how fun it can be to push hard on my curvy back roads. That being said, I've never really been a Honda guy, but this car has changed my mind. I've fallen in love with the looks and how great it drives, even with worn out suspension and under 100 horsepower. I can easily see the appeal of swapping in a more powerful motor and really letting it rip! I'll have to buy a second car to do the swap, as I 100% am going to keep the quirky D15Z1 and it's lean burn in my current car.