Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

California Hybrid Dreaming

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2006, 09:52 AM
Batpool

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default California Hybrid Dreaming

Ok so I did a quick search (really quick, I might have missed something) and I didn't find anything that answered my questions.

As all of you know, California has probably the toughest smog laws in the nation, and I have heard a few horror stories about swaps that have made it unable for the owner to register the car, essentially nullifying all work done to the car because it is no longer legal for street use.

I have a 98 Civic Ex sedan, and I want to switch out the d16y8 for something with a bit more punch that can handle a good boosting later on down the line, like an LS/Vtec or even just a straight up B18C1 (though I am a noob, so if anyone has better suggestions I have a very open mind).

Taking into account that I live in California and this car is daily driven (and therefore must still be able to be registered), what options do I have for creating a hybrid and what can I do to minimize the chance of having my car registered as off-road use only?

Two other things to keep in mind before answering:
1. I do not have a lot of money or technical know-how, so switching engines back and forth is not an option (but if that is the only thing I can do, I will have to learn).
2. I can't go out of state and register it and go back, because I'd rather do this as close to legally as possible.

Any and all help is appreciated!
Old 09-16-2006, 01:06 AM
Batpool

Any help?

Even a "Search harder NOOB" would be appreciated...
Old 09-16-2006, 08:13 AM
GDD Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: (SilentEdge)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by search &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">