Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

B18C Clarification, I Did Research, Just Need Clarification.

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2013, 09:55 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 B18C Clarification, I Did Research, Just Need Clarification.

A friend was moving and he gave me a deal on his car, and I couldn’t pass it up. I primarily bought the car for the motor. I will be installing this into a OBD1 1990 Integra DA. I am new to the ITR game and so I came here to get some kind of clarification on some of the information I have researched. Please let me know if the information that I have is wrong, and if any other parts can be used.

Block is stamped B18C, Head is stamped PR3 = JDM Type R Motor

Engine came with USDM B16 cable transmission, P28 Mugen chipped ECU

1. With the information provided, can I assume that my motor is a JDM Type R Motor? Many people say to check tranny, but obviously I do not have the right tranny. Others have said that if the block is stamped B18C and head is stamped PR3 I have JDM ITR.

2. Oil pan is in bad shape, and timing belt/water pump ect need to be done. I have read that any USDM GSR/ITR oil pan, timing belt/water pump and other parts are interchangeable? If not, what parts are not interchangeable?

3. I have gotten mixed reviews on what the correct ECU I should be using. I will be keeping it NA. Many have said that the P28 Mugen Chipped should work fine. Others say that I should be running the JDM ITR ecu so that I won’t get CEL because JDM ITR motors have less sensors that UDSM ITR motors do. When they say to use the JDM ITR ecu, no one offers the ecu number like (p28/p72 ect). If I do my the JDM ITR ecu, is this the right number I’m looking for (P73-003)

is P73-003 the best ECU that I should be running with this set up that does not require tuning?