Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

B18b1 Assembly/Project Advice

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2016, 09:54 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default B18b1 Eg swap advice ?

Hey what's up guys, first off I want to say, I'm kinda new to Hondas, I'm 20 years old and I've had my eg for about 2 years now. Had some single cam work done but nothing too fancy. I've done all my own work on my eg besides a clutch swap. the mechanics of a car are very interesting to me. Try to do as much as I can by myself to learn. Beside the fact of that; I picked myself up a running ls swap plug and play the other day (drove it before I bought it seemed pretty healthy). I am planning to go lsv/turbo. A friend of my family is mechanically inclined with his own shop. We will be dropping the motor into the car ourselves. He's a mustang guy and built that thing from Just the shell so I'm sure he knows what he is doing to a little 4 cyl. Never have experienced doing a motor swap so this will be a fun experience for me. I just have a few questions that hopefully this community can fulfill for reference toward myself;

0) any SPECIFIC way that the swap should be installed into the car? Or any way & how you can just get it in the bay?
1) which gasket should I use for the head when I put a b16 on the ls.
2) what are the correct steps to take to achieve a non problematic lsv/turbo swap the correct way. (Read 50/50 reviews on it)
3)What does obd mean?
4) how do I know what obd my engine/harness is. (i know everything's plug & play but tryijg to expand my knowledge)
5) is my computer for obd I or II (p75)
6)can I run 2 1/2' exhaust with a b18(stock)
7)difference between ls & gsr tranny

Last edited by Kg96; 04-24-2016 at 06:05 PM. Reason: mistake.
Old 04-25-2016, 02:21 PM

Received 234 Likes on 209 Posts
Default Re: B18b1 Assembly/Project Advice