Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

is a b16a swap worth it?

Old 11-24-2003, 07:31 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default is a b16a swap worth it?

alright im getting to the point where im needing to swap out my stock d-series for a much awaited b-series. im thinkin a b16a swap cuz its cheap and will be good for my first swap. learning/driving. i know i could handle a gsr/r swap no prob i just dont know if its worth the 3500-5k....also i think that a b16 will be slow at first but part of the fun will be building it up....i just dont want to rush, get a b16, realize its a slow piece, and a $ pit, then end up swappin it out for a c1/c5. im on a budget cus im rollin out to japan in a week or so and i just wrecked so $ is low. also im a student so cash flow is extra weak. my Eg with any swap, will be my daily driver/ autox/street. thanx
_______
Old 11-25-2003, 04:54 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: is a b16a swap worth it? (HUBB)

I've known a few people who bought a B16A with very high expectations and were disappointed. It really all boils down to 2 things: what are your goals and how much money do you have to spend? Stock for stock the B18C is of course better than a B16A. Is it worth about $1500-2500 or so more? Well that's debatable, but to the people that went B18C I'm sure most will agree.
Now if you have intentions of building, say a LSVTEC, CRVTEC, etc. then the B16A would be a good choice because you are getting all the expensive stuff that's hard to get in separate forms at once: tranny, VTEC head + VTEC ECU. If you want to go all motor and stay with a 1.6L block, well that's gonna be a hard road traveled.
Old 11-25-2003, 09:06 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: is a b16a swap worth it? (VTECVillain)