Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A16A6 non vtec change

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2003, 02:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A16A6 non vtec change

ok, im a little new to the honda scene, i worked on v8s for along time and i was lookin to expand my horizons, so the deal is i have a 92 honda civic and apparently it has a non vtec d16a6, according to the guides. it has a cold air intake, but otherwise is stock. im wondering what i can do, without changing the engine, maybe convert to vtec? any help would be appreciated!
Old 12-15-2003, 02:49 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: A16A6 non vtec change (Shadow Templar)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by Shadow Templar &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">ok, im a little new to the honda scene, i worked on v8s for along time and i was lookin to expand my horizons, so the deal is i have a 92 honda civic and apparently it has a non vtec d16a6, according to the guides. it has a cold air intake, but otherwise is stock.</TD></TR></TABLE>

Have you looked at the block to check the code or are you going by something you read online? If the car has a D16A6 then it was swapped in, because that motor was only found in the 1988-91 Civic and CRX Si.

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">im wondering what i can do, without changing the engine, maybe convert to vtec? any help would be appreciated!</TD></TR></TABLE>

First you need to make sure what you have before deciding what to do next. You could easily do a single cam VTEC swap or a "mini-me" VTEC head swap, throw together a homemade turbo setup, etc. There are many possibilities...
Old 12-15-2003, 02:58 PM

Default Re: A16A6 non vtec change (VTECVillain)