Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

97 cx hatch with D16Y8 swap

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2016, 09:24 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 97 cx hatch with D16Y8 swap

Hello all,
Just bought a 97 civic as a project car for cheap. It has a D16Y8 swapped into it with a p2p-c33 ECU and i believe is OBD2a (not sure if im right on that). Im new to honda's so im trying to get a grasp on wiring. I found a bunch of plugs not connected to anything.

The one in the middle i am 90% sure is for a Primary 02 sensor?
The header on the car currently has no 02 sensor in it...
The car is somehow running with just one sensor post cat.
I have bought a new header, which has the bung for a new 02 sensor i will buy, im hoping i can just install it? and the motor will run better?
The car has thrown the code P0135 and P0141.
This all leads me to believe the car is just completely missing a primary 02 sensor?

Secondly what would the other plugs be? i tried looking at a bunch of wiring harness guides and im at a loss as to what they are for

No clue if any of this will make sense but it's worth a shot.

The engine feels completely fine while driving so am i missing something here?
Old 01-02-2016, 06:43 PM
Anti-GDD White Knight Simp

Default Re: 97 cx hatch with D16Y8 swap

It is possible that the ecu you have is chipped and thus you don't need o2 sensors. My car is tuned with neptune and I don't use them either. If emissions are not a problem for you, find out what exact kind of ecu you're running. If it isn't chipped or tuned, consider getting one that is that won't need the o2 sensors. No sense opening that can of worms if you absolutely don't need emissions
Old 01-02-2016, 06:54 PM