Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion

Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion (https://honda-tech.com/forums/)
-   Hybrid / Engine Swaps (https://honda-tech.com/forums/hybrid-engine-swaps-18/)
-   -   1990 Civic SI with D16A8 (https://honda-tech.com/forums/hybrid-engine-swaps-18/1990-civic-si-d16a8-3314535/)

MYFYN79 02-03-2018 10:42 AM

1990 Civic SI with D16A8

Howdy,

I'm hoping this is posted in the appropriate spot, if not please let me know where it should be. I'm new to Honda's, so I have little knowledge of things which may be obvious to others. I apologize if this has been beat to death or not talked about in years. :)

I have available to me a 1990 Civic SI which the owner passed away, so the specs of everything are gone. The person managing the estate let me drag it home to see if I want the car or not. The only obvious mods I can see are a header, catback, fancy plug wires and MSD coil, aluminum rear control arms, and a D16A8 engine with a cold air kit.

The car has been sitting several years and wont start. I'm not familiar with how loud the fuel pump should be on the car but I don't hear it running with the key on. It did fire with starting fluid so it has some compression and I can imagine its not getting fuel yet.

What I would like to understand most is how I could ID the transmission in the car, and also to determine which ECU the car has. Reading swap info I see a lot of people mentioning you should run the ECU which the engine came from. The only info I got for the car is that it has an Acura engine in it, and some places say certain year Integra's came with the D16A8. Thank you for any information someone could offer!

MYFYN79 02-07-2018 02:39 AM

Re: 1990 Civic SI with D16A8