Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1988 hybrid wiring help

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2001, 07:50 PM
New User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1988 hybrid wiring help

first off, I am a newbie to honda motor swaps, so please bear with me. My 88 civic dx was stolen and then recovered with a rod hanging out of the side of the old 1.5's block. I have decided to replace it with a jdm b16a. I have read numerous web pages devoted to the wiring involved in the swap (at the ecu, and in the engine compartment) to make it work, and I figured I would tackle that part first since the swap itself seems pretty straightforward(ecu, engine, trans, axles, linkage, what have you) while I was in the middle of doing the necessary modifications at the ecu end of the harness, I discovered a couple of positions in the plugs which were wired, and not supposed to be, and vice versa, some that were supposed to be wired were empty. Some of the insulation colors did not jive with what was in my chiltons wiring diagrams. Since that time I have seen a couple of web pages that mentioned "a difference at the ecu" on 88 models, but no real info on what those differences may be. The ecu end of the harness is wired up with all the changes to pin position of existing wires, + the 8 wires run into the engine compartment, however due to the numerous differences from the "easy to follow" instructions for wiring a DX civic I encountered, I am a little leery about connecting a $250 ECU to the harness I've created. There must be ten thousand people who have done this swap on an 88 model car, and hopefully someone can identify with my problem. If anyone has any info that can help me out I would really appreciate it. I don't know now whether I have ruined my harness, or if I merely need to make a couple of adjustments on my first try, or what. the date of manufacture on t