Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

[ To swap or not to Swap ]

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2002, 07:32 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default [ To swap or not to Swap ]

I am looking in to purchasing a civic. I am a newbie when dealing with car mods and swaps just to let you know.

Here's what I want to do. I want a car with power, speed and not pay alot. [ doesn't everyone] I am looking into buying a 96 civic coupe then do an engine swap. So would it really matter if I choose a lx, or dx or ex trim? I was wondering becasue lx and dx are cheaper to get and if they are the same why not save money that way and spend money on the engine. Do you guys think this would be a rational idea? what am I missing in engine swapping? I want to spend about 6-7g. I would like to get a decent audio sytem too. Or I can just get an Ex coupe and just get an audio system. Or I can try and get more money for a car loan to get the Si. I am not sure what to do. I really like the Si but it's kinda out of my price range right now unless I go salvaged, Anyone have experience with salvaged Si's? I need answers and YOU guys are the one that can help me. PLEASE. I do not want to make a costly decision. Ultimately I do not intend to drag or street race, but I do wnat to be able to peel out crusing at like 60 -70 mph. I will be adding an audio system which will add to weight, but I love my bass. Anything you can can proved with concerning my questions, ideas will really clearify my way of seeing this purchase and aid me in making the right choice for me at this time in my life.

nasTyneF
Old 04-27-2002, 07:36 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: [ To swap or not to Swap ] (nasTyneF)

I think you may have a hard time buying a car, doing a swap and putting in a decent system for 6-7g's.