Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A "WIRING HOW TO" on a ITR motor swap into a EK

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2003, 09:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A "WIRING HOW TO" on a ITR motor swap into a EK

This is an attempt to straighten out a few minor details when dropping in a ITR motor into an EK. Also keep in mind guys that this is my first time doing this and I'm just trying to help out our hybrid community. The info below is what I believe was the better choice for me as far as motor/ecu/mounts/etc.. others might think otherwise and that is OK. If you have any suggestions and think that something is incorrect PLEASE contact me through Email or through this post.
As far as wiring I chose to use my DX wiring harness on the ITR motor and add the few wires that are missing in order to not get any codes and for VTEC to work properly. I also used a chipped P28 from Jason K. (REAL cool guy) and one of his OBD2-OBD1 ECU harnesses. I then made a sub-harness with the wires that the DX harness doesn't bring which where as follows.
A4 VTEC Solenoid
D3 Knock Sensor
D6 VTEC Oil Pressure Switch (which I had to use one from an older B16A motor I had lying round cause the JDM ITR motor doesn't use this sensor and the P28 ecu needs the signal in order to not get a code 22.)
The other wiring modification I had to do was on the motor side of the harness which was the IACV which is a square plug on EK's and you need to use the round type of plugs that came with the motor. Also keep in mind that the stock harness uses 3 wires for that plug and the one you'll be needing only uses 2 wires. You need to use the blk/blu and yel/blk wires and splice them into the IACV plug that came with the ITR motor. Here you will have to move the wire in pin A14 to A12 (I might have to get back on this one cause right now I'm not 100% sure).