Notices
Honda Prelude All Model Preludes

2001 Prelude Type SH I might buy

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2011, 01:21 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 Prelude Type SH I might buy

Hello Prelude community, I've been driving a Milano Red EJ6 for about five years and the tranny is done. I'm looking for a RELIABLE, sporty daily driver within a moderate budget ($5-10k as a ball park range). I may keep the Civic and build it, so I don't need a racecar or anything, just a fun, affordable DD. Anyway, I found this:

http://www.hondamarketplace.com/show....php?t=2963800

How much would you all pay for it? It seems to be super clean!
Old 08-17-2011, 02:49 PM
Cool Cool Island Breezes. BOY-EE

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: 2001 Prelude Type SH I might buy

It's clean. But the price seems a bit high. $6500ish is what I'd pay on the high end.
Old 08-17-2011, 02:53 PM

BTW, the SH might work for you in this case because it seems to have been driven very lightly. But remember that the SH comes with it's own set of head aches. ATTS was really dumb. Honda should have just put in a regular LSD trans. It's WAY too complicated. It uses these stupid clutchpacks and gears to prevent inside wheel spin while turning. It uses an AT trans style cooler that is plumbed into the radiator. It can't handle over 250hp. It also saps power from the engine because of the stupid extra clutch packs, fluid, and gears.

I just recently bought a 97 SH with a blown motor thinking I could just swap in a JDM black top and call it a day. NOPE! The SH model came with a unique block and transmission configuration. So I had to buy a JDM long block and a LSD trans seperately.

ATTS seems to malfunction easily. H series motors aren't exactly known for their durability and longevity, it seems. They blow up wayyyyy too much. The car that I bought had been driven lightly by just some normal *** dude. It has a bad thrust bearing and rod knock at 149K miles. Weak.