Notices
Honda Motorcycles Honda Powersports: riding, maintenance, gear, and safety.
View Poll Results: What would YOU do???
Buy the bike, and be STOKED!
0%
Buy the bike, your budget is reasonable.
0%
Buy the bike, but expect to pay a lot more than your budget.
0%
Pass this opportunity... there will be better ones.
100.00%
Voters: 1. You may not vote on this poll

CB350F - (Potentially) First Used Bike Purchase... Opinions/Advice/Help Needed

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2011, 04:12 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 CB350F - (Potentially) First Used Bike Purchase... Opinions/Advice/Help Needed

Please bear with me, as I am very new to Motorbike terms.. Please feel free to make any corrections.

I went to see a 1973 CB350F today, and was a little spooked by a couple of things. I'm relying on you guys/gals since most of my friends aren't riders, and the few who are can't travel with me to see it.

http://img215.imageshack.us/img215/8164/si851996e.jpg

Most worrying is the fact that there appeared to be a section of the frame where a weld separated, but I'm not sure how things are "supposed" to look, particularly for a 38 year old bike. The questionable weld appears to hold a bracket for the trailing end of the Left Exhaust (Red Square), and the Exhaust midsection nearly makes contact with one of the Nuts/Bolts near the Footpeg (Yellow Square). There is much more clearance on the right side, but I'm not sure whether this is because of the Kick Start Lever location. The difference in the gap where these two pieces join is much bigger on the left than on the right. The bottom of the exhaust shows signs of damage near the rear Axle, and there's even a little hole on the outside of the Resonator/Muffler... this hole doesn't go all the way through the baffle. I'm thinking this bike was dropped, but I'm not sure how extensive the damage is...

Left Side Rear Lower Rail Weld:
http://img94.imageshack.us/img94/5839/si851999.jpg