Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion

Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion (https://honda-tech.com/forums/)
-   Honda Insight & CR-Z Hybrid (https://honda-tech.com/forums/honda-insight-cr-z-hybrid-154/)
-   -   New to honda but considering cr-z (https://honda-tech.com/forums/honda-insight-cr-z-hybrid-154/new-honda-but-considering-cr-z-2875330/)

quikstang03mach 12-19-2010 12:27 PM

New to honda but considering cr-z

Hey gang,
I am starting a new job with a 120mile round trip commute (south jersey to philly)and looking to purchase a commuter car. The CR-Z is pretty sporting looking and gets good MPGs.
First off, im totally new to honda as I have owned mustangs for the past 10 years. Secondly, I have no experience with CVT transmissions and hybrid motors.

So my question to you is what are your thoughts on this new model? fit/finish, functionality, ride, etc.
Is there any special maintence that needs to be performed on the CVT or hybrid engine? if so, what? any idea how long the battery will last?

Im really torn between the sportyness and MPG of the CR-Z and the convential focus/fiesta (thats offering 60month 0% financing).

Thank you!

vg_Ace 12-19-2010 06:14 PM

Re: New to honda but considering cr-z

I don't think anybody can actually tell you how long that battery will last because it has never been driven a long time in that vehicle(they are brand new and not road tested). I have heard horror stories of the 1st Gen Insight batteries going out and the owners had to shell out thousands to get a new one, then the next one goes out too.

as for the mpgs, the HCH will get you better mpgs but you would still have the problem of that possible battery replacement.

personally I own a 91 CRX HF which has netted me ~55 mpg on the freeway and my highest was 64.1 mpgs. All on a SOHC with no batteries.

Blue-Civic-Hybrid 12-19-2010 08:52 PM

It's all up to you really and with the sweet deal that Ford is offering on the new Focus/Fiesta, that would be hard to turn down.