Notices
Honda Insight & CR-Z Hybrid Honda Insight and CR-Z Hybrid discussion forum.

2000 Honda Insight question..Technicians help!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2012, 04:34 PM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 Honda Insight question..Technicians help!!

Im a technician at an independent shop. Customer was complaining about heat coming on and off when driving..It would blow cold all of a sudden and then blow hot again.. I saw the heater core leak and the radiator seemed to be clugged. I replaced them and also the thermostat. Before all that, i did cylinder leak down test and everything checked good. No leakage and didnt hear anything from the radiator. So i replaced those components(heater core,radiator and the thermostat) and now I have consistent heat and no overheating issue at all. However i noticed something i thought was very strange.. After all these components replaced, i took the car for a test drive to see if no heat/heat issue would happen again. So i drove the car around on the highway and around 45mph range streets and whatnot. I tried to duplicate the problem for about 20-30min by driving., everything was working perfectly fine. i came back from test drive and led the car idle on the parking lot and checked the radiator hoses. So the upper hose was nice and hot and lower hose was cold! I mean it was like no coolant passed thru there, it literally was cold. and the lower hose also felt like over pressurized. Again I did not see any issue with the car after all. Heat is good and consistent and No Overheating issue at all. Im just thinking maybe the thermostat opens a little later than normal non hybrid cars even though the TEMP GAUGE on the dash was showing perfectly where it was supposed to be (normal operating temp) which i also thought it was strange. I took the car for another drive after 5 minutes of idle and came back..This time lower hose was nice and warm... I really dont get this.. Why the car didn't over heat at the first t