Honda Fit Honda Fit (Jazz)

EGR valve and engine light

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2015, 04:34 AM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default EGR valve and engine light

Hi,

My Honda Jazz (Fit) has a blocked off EGR-valve (the previous owner had this done). Because the engine light was on and started to bother me, i brought it to a car shop and had a new EGR valve installed, that i bought online (at the car shop i learned that the old valve was blocked off with a metal plate). As soon as i drove off (the engine light was off) the car started to shudder and shake. I probably drove about 500/800 metres and drove back to the car shop. Because i didn't have time to have him investigate any further he blocked off the new valve and my car drove as "smooth" as it did before with the old blocked off valve and the engine light is "on" again.

I'm a noob but tried to inform myself by reading different threads. I've been reading about the ECU and resetting it after modifications. Should that have been done in order to reset and avoid shuddering? Maybe i sould have driven a little bit further in order to clear the passageways?

A friend of a friend repairs cars and i would like him to take a look. Could removing the plate and resetting the ECU resolve the problem? As a noob it seems so strange that it runs smooth with the plate on and causes problems without it. Any other possibilities?

I also find that the car has less mpg (kilometers in the Netherlands ;-) than could be expected of a car like this. Could this be related to the EGR situation?
Old 09-14-2015, 07:06 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: EGR valve and engine light

Originally Posted by Honhel
I'm a noob but tried to inform myself by reading different threads. I've been reading about the ECU and resetting it after modifications. Should that have been done in order to reset and avoid shuddering? Maybe i sould have driven a little bit further in order to clear the passageways?