Crankshaft pulley bolt - 98 CR-V - Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion

Honda Element & CR-V 2WD & 4WD Element & CR-V

Crankshaft pulley bolt - 98 CR-V

Old 11-04-2016, 04:06 PM   #1
Trial User

Default Crankshaft pulley bolt - 98 CR-V

Greetings. Thanks in advance for any help or advice you can offer.

I'm a 42 year old carpenter working on my teenage son's vehicle. I am very comfortable turning wrenches and have tackled many automotive projects on several different cars over the years. In a nutshell, I'm not a newb when it comes to car repair..

Vehicle: 1998 CR-V with blown head gasket. I'm currently in the disassembly stage.

In addition to changing the head gasket, I'm changing the timing belt, tensioner and water pump.

I've been stuck for a couple of days (working on it in the evenings when not at my real job) trying to get the crankshaft pulley bolt undone. I have the removal tool (hollow hexagon with 1/2 socket hole), numerous 1/2 extensions and breaker bars, and the 19 mm deep well impact socket for the actual crankshaft pulley bolt.

I was able to wedge the removal tool, on the end of a 1/2 breaker bar, against the ground to hold the crankshaft stationary. While set-up in this fashion, I was attempting to turn the bolt counter-clockwise (ccw) to loosen the bolt. Many videos and forums have confirmed that ccw is the direction needed to loosen the bolt. This lead to four 1/2 extensions being broken. I was applying steady pressure (I'm a big guy) and the extensions sheered off where the "nib" is affixed to the end of the extension.

I tried stepping down onto the breaker bar/extension set in a horizontal position. All this accomplished was me catching a breaker bar to the groin (ouch).

I have attempted to hold the crankshaft stationary with a chain wrapped around the motor mount above the crankshaft. I saw a video where this worked. I was not able to get the pulley and chain link up to even try the bolt.