Notices
Honda CR-V & Element 2WD & 4WD Element & CR-V

99 CRV Project

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2012, 07:19 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 99 CRV Project

I guess it's time for me to pop in here, post a build thread and introduce myself.

I'm new to the Honda scene but have handled, tuned, and built a few cars. My biggest investment so far was my '00 turbo Zetec Cougar. It went from NA, to spray, and then turbo.. and then a blown transmission and sitting around.

My 2 other personal projects were my '96 Cobra and '93 wrangler (does that even count? rofl).

etc. etc. etc.

Onto my current project. I recently picked up a '99 CRV with a rod knock and in need of standard maintenance. I've always thought they would make a good project, and I'm generally a fan of a car or mod that isn't "standard".

My goals for this build:

*Learn about honda engines..
-I'll be tuning this, and researching the best methods
-Apparently these engines will respond to mods more than my previous projects
-enjoy not having to fabricate or mod every part for this motor

*High Compression Streetable NA
-non vtec
-b18
-fully built engine
_I will be spraying this engine
_Depending on what research turns, I may be looking into a low boost supercharged setup to replace the spray in the distant future.

*Decent suspension and a set of wheels
-I've never really invested in wheels or aesthetics, but I've got inspiration for the CRV to look pretty clean once it's finished.
-I'm not sure which companies have offered coil overs for this specific platform, but I'll be making a few phone calls to the normal companies to see if I can find any interest from them.