Notices

Suspension Question

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2019, 08:05 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suspension Question

My rear trailing arm bushings are shot where i get this squeaking sound when I go over bumps. I think my suspension in general front and back is probably in need of a change, pretty sure they have never been changed in the 30 years and 130km the car has done. I think i'd like to combine this with a small lowering of the car. I'm a noob at this so specifically what would I need to achieve this? Also would the size of my tires (205/50/15) be a problem, or would I need to roll the fenders?
Old 03-19-2019, 05:17 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts
Default Re: Suspension Question

Suggest you start with the getting the suspension in order first. If you want to lower a lot then you will need toe adjusters, and the originals are probably corroded to the point they won't be easy to pry apart. Google that process first to see what you're getting into. If you choose to skip this step, the lower you go the more you will rip up your tires, so pick your poison. I would recommend urethane bushings for the struts and control arms, but not for the large trailing arm bushing- stick with rubber for that. There's a lot of argument about urethane and deflection if you want to decide for yourself, found this link that explains it somewhat- imho the "benefit" prevents the trailing arm from moving the way it was designed to.
https://www.speeddirect.com/index.ph...hane-vs-rubber

If you lower more than an inch and a half you might rub slightly. This will depend on the offset of the wheels, camber, and possibly suspension travel. What's your offset?

Any idea what setup you're interested in? How far you want to lower? These are all pretty important if you want to do this properly.
Old 03-19-2019, 07:10 AM
Honda-Tech Member