Notices

Random Split Second "Restart"

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2017, 04:42 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Random Split Second "Restart"

Hey all, still driving the same CRX I've been beating on for 4 years, having a new issue lately

Sometimes when I am driving, the engine cuts out for a split second, and the radio and accessory power also cuts out with it. It comes back immediately. It has a check light for a few seconds, and then disappears, just like it would if you've turned the key.

I've noticed too that sometimes an electric load will cause this to happen. If I turn on the AC, for example. Or press the brake. or turn on the headlight.

Electrical load doesn't always trigger it, and sometimes it just happens randomly.

I've already replaced the main relay within the last two years, and I resoldered this one just to make sure.

Any ideas?
Old 08-21-2017, 04:08 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Random Split Second "Restart"

I see that with my whole comment of "turning the key" I could have pointed myself to the ignition switch, but would that manifest this way? That's not the common way I've heard that these fail, and last time I had it out, it looked okay, but then again, I can't remember when that was.
Old 08-21-2017, 08:07 AM
Honda-Tech Member

The ignition switches are not a common failure point on these cars, but having a big, heavy key chain hanging off of it can cause unnecessary wear.
The weight of all those keys puts forces on the ignition switch it was never designed to see and eventually cause it to fail.
Wiggle and/or tug on the keys to rule out the ignition switch.

It could also be a loose connection on the battery; clean up the battery posts and tighten all connections to rule this out.
Old 09-06-2017, 05:48 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Sorry to have left in the dark but it happens