Notices

Bi-stage 91 std hb build. d15b2>turbo kit>tune>d16a6 engine build>re-tune

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2010, 11:57 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bi-stage 91 std hb build. d15->2 turbos

First off I am aware that d15b2 is about the worst engine to do anything with. It came in the car that I got for free with a bad valve ($12+gaskets). I looked at it sitting out in the drive for a long time. My background is offroad motorcycle racing and I'm 2010 M.E. grad from Rose-Hulman. I have never had a honda car before and this car is unlikely to ever be plated, at least I dont think I will ever want to pay the insurance on another/this vehicle. I'm really a BMW guy and diesel, small diesels, like the bmw335d.

To this project. I am really going for fun. I am building the setup as cheaply as i think I can.

So to what I am putting together
stage 1
d15b2 stock internals/head
88-91 si intake manifold/mpfi/resister box
PM6-A09 ecu + chipping Kit
TD02u distributor
ebay ex. manifold
ebay t3/t4 turbo
Schwitzer S1 turbo
ebay wastegate
ebay BOV
ebay (GM) 3 bar map
ebay oil filter adapter for turbo oil lines
ebay Gaskets
Homemade Headgasket
Locally sourced hose/conduit/hose clamps/oil fittings
Turboedit/hulog/ecucontrol/freelog for tuning

currently HERE will run boost for a while then goes into limp mode.

Stage 2 ...
build D16a6 for high boost
Rods
vitaras
cleanup ports in head
high strength studs all around

stage3...
RTAWD

stage 4...
grassroots mag. $201X challenge maybe