Notices

deleting fitv and iacv

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2010, 06:57 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default deleting fitv and iacv

ive blocked off both the iacv and fitv on my b16 hatch using aluminum between the valves and the tb, havnt unplugged them just blocked them off. had to adjust my idle up some but other than that ive seen no ill effects. how can i do away with the wiring for these without throwing a code??
The following users liked this post:
Old 04-28-2010, 08:36 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: deleting fitv and iacv

anyone got any input on this? ive been running it like this for about 3 months, in weather from freezing to around 80 and it starts and runs smooth all the time
Old 04-28-2010, 09:13 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Why?
Old 04-28-2010, 11:24 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I believe any engine management program can delete them.
Old 04-28-2010, 02:36 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by 4g4dcruisin
Why?
basically just less things to mess with, esp all the idle problems they cause.
Old 04-28-2010, 05:50 PM
Honda-Tech Member

I am considering blocking off my IACV on my 90 Civic HB, since I done everything else to get rid of the surging idle. I've cleaned it, replaced the O-Ring gasket, and even bled the cooling system since I got very little anti-freeze out of it when I pulled the valve to clean it. I know the valve works because I unplugged it and the idle settled right down. Of course it threw a "Check Engine" light at me. The surge got better after the gasket & cooling system fix but is still there. It is a pain because I have to time giving it throttle to move away from a stop. If I catch it on a dip the engine bogs. Off idle it runs great.

I asked on another board if anyone had done this and got no replies. I think I will cut a plate and try it and report back.

Clint in Kentucky
Old 04-28-2010, 06:00 PM
Honda-Tech Member