Notices

CRX High Idle

Old 10-29-2009, 06:57 AM
New User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CRX High Idle

I just got a 1990 CRX DX 1.5L and it idles at a constant 3k. I have drove it around 50 miles to get it warmed up and see if the idle would go down, it didn't. I checked the codes and it had...

Oxygen Sensor "A" (Primary)
defective circuit or unplugged / defective sensor

IAT Sensor (Intake Air Temperature)

TDC Sensor (Top Dead Center)

IAC Valve (Idle Air Control)

I replaced the Oxygen Sensor "A" last night and it didn't seem to help. I disconnected the battery and no codes will flash. I will take it out for another drive today to see if I can get a code to flash.

If I push up on the throttle dishpot diaphragm assy (part number 16044-PM5-A01) it will idle normally but as soon as I take my finger off of it, the idle will go back up.

I am not a mechanic and I am new with hondas, any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Last edited by snowboarderbrt; 10-29-2009 at 09:25 AM.
Old 10-29-2009, 09:07 AM
DO IT ON ALL FOURS

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Re: CRX High Idle

Most likely the dashpot is causing a big vacuum leak. A lot of people just cap all the ports off and leave them unhooked. Either way you should figure out the rest of the codes as well. Don't let it keep idleing that high (especially sitting still with no engine load). Before you know it you will have "knocking rods" saying "hello".
Old 10-29-2009, 09:25 AM
New User

N3va3vaSatisfi3d, thanks for the advice. Do you know how I should bypass the dashpot? I just took it out again, hasn't thrown a code in 20 miles. Still revs at 3k.
Old 10-30-2009, 05:17 AM
New User

Last night I replaced the oil, tranny fluid, CV joint and cleaned the high idle control unit. None of it seemed to help.