Notices

B16a1 cooling system refresh

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2016, 03:29 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default B16a1 cooling system refresh

Hey guys, I'm not really sure where I should be posting this. I recently found a leak in the water pump inlet pipe and I'm taking the opportunity to refresh the cooling system on my b16a1 swap ef. Trying to located the proper parts for what I need.

I've order

-OE Replacement radiator for 88-91 EF Civic
-92-93 GSR upper radiator hose
-90.91 LS power radiator hose

I would like to refresh all the other related hosing too like heater hose, by pass hoses etc and themostar + gasket etc but I don't know which part number to look for. I'm also unsure which inlet pipe I should be buying. Should i be looking at 2000 honda si?????

for anybody that have done this before on an ef with b16a, is it easier to take on the intake manifold and oil filter and reach from the top? or is it possible to do it from the bottom?

noob here please take it easy on me
Old 11-02-2016, 03:02 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: B16a1 cooling system refresh

talked to a local shop that specialize in honda's and they have never change out that connecting pipe so was unable to answer my question. since nobody seems to know I took the risk and order the b16a2 pipe. when it get here I will attempt the removal and install.
Old 11-03-2016, 06:27 PM
Honda-Tech Member

That pipe should be fine. It may have the extra water outlet close to the alternator but you can plug/reroute it. The pipe has 2 rubber gaskets at the pump and at the thermo housing, are you sure those aren't leaking? I've never encountered a broken pipe, just old gaskets.
Old 11-03-2016, 07:14 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by jonGSR