Notices

90 Civic - EACV problem

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2012, 01:41 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 90 Civic - EACV problem

My engine started surging on my 90 civic and the check engine light came on. I shut it off and restart it and its all normal. The behavior is intermittant.
The code book pointed to the EACV as the problem.

I'm not a mechanic. From what I understand if it acts up its either in the wiring, or the valve as explained above AND it could also be a faulty ECU. I'm going to a friend's house (and fellow member) and he's going to run it through various tests. I'd rather try to replace the Valve then the ECU obviously, but I may end up doing both. If I put a used EACV in and it still does it, well, you know. Could be the ECU.

BUt now your saying if I take it off and soak it in a carburator cleaner it may fix the problem? That's worth trying first. Is there adifference between an EACV and an IACV? Would it be safe to soak an Electronic Air Control Valve?
Lymeris
Old 11-19-2012, 02:03 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: can someone explane to me the E.A.C.V

try taking it off and cleaning the valve part with some brake cleaner, sometimes they get gunk in the and can't open/close properly, causing it to surge.
Old 11-19-2012, 02:21 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 66 Likes on 64 Posts

[edit, thanks?]

lymeris, your issue is probably more of an intermittent leaky vacuum hose. the EACV compensates for changes in air into the engine, but if air is coming in thru a hose, then it can only do so much. so it can be working fine as it should.

do a normal water spray test while the engine is running to see if the water blocks the leaks, the engine will respond if it does. then you can pinpoint the leak.

if you DO take the EACV out, then you really ought to replace the gasket from the dealer. or else youll for sure create a leak.

i dont think it has anything to do with your ECU.

Last edited by Tyson; 11-20-2012 at 12:47 PM.