Notices
Honda CR-V & Element 2WD & 4WD Element & CR-V

Please help: Timing belt tension/slack adjustment

Old 12-22-2011, 08:38 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please help: Timing belt tension/slack adjustment

So, I was adjusting the valve lash on my 01 CRv I just picked up and noticed that on tdc, the tension was rather loose. If I turn it past that, it's tight with no slack. Is there a way of adjusting this without removing the crank pulley? I've heard of accessing the tensioner through the cover and adjusting the tension that way. Any truth to that?

The belt and components were changed out earlier this year.

Does this look loose to you?

Name:  cae303ea.jpg
Views: 27408
Size:  119.7 KB[/QUOTE]
Old 12-23-2011, 05:47 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Please help: Timing belt tension/slack adjustment

I'm still learning about these engines
but
I'm pretty sure it's not supposed to be that loose.
Old 12-23-2011, 07:13 AM
Honda-Tech Member

I came upon this link for adjusting the tension...

http://www.vadriven.com/forums/757-1...g-belt-275961/

I just want to make sure this is what I NEED to do. Maybe the belt is supposed to be this way, I don't know.

The belt is not oem. Maybe I should replace it with an oem one and check out the rest of the components as well as the tensioner. But I'd rather do this later as I'm battling with a clutc install at the moment.
Old 12-23-2011, 09:09 AM
Honda-Tech Member

If you can rotate the engine and the timing marks stay on target, and the car runs fine, I wouldn't worry about it.

When you start the engine, the crank turns before the cams, so this slack will immediately disappear. A lot of the Honda engines I have seen can have the timing belt look this way if the rotating assembly is in a certain place (mostly due to the valve springs trying to turn the cams forwards or backwards).
Old 12-23-2011, 09:16 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts