Notices
Honda CR-V & Element 2WD & 4WD Element & CR-V

05 CR-V Leaking CV Joint Outer Boots

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2017, 11:55 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 05 CR-V Leaking CV Joint Outer Boots

2005 CR-V EX AWD Automatic Tranny- Original owner, but I'm somewhat new to working on on my Honda as I recently retired. When I was working, I didn't have the time, so I paid to have it worked on. However, I had done a lot of work on VW's and American Iron back in my younger days but I am new to most suspension work, and working with the CV joints on my Honda.

7 months ago I replaced lower ball joints, control arm bushings, and inner and outer CV joint boots on both sides. The tips on Honda-Tech were extremely helpful. I disassembled all the CV joints and cleaned them thoroughly before reassembling, adding the grease and installing the boots. The bands on the boots were as tight as I could get them, and they seemed quite tight. BJs were MOOG, compliance bushings and boots were Honda OEM. The Honda boots came with the yellow Honda OEM grease, which I used.

I have put about 6,000 miles on the CR-V since I did this work, it now has about 104,XXX on it.