Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

what to lube when doing clutch

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2005, 11:51 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default what to lube when doing clutch

Well im going to try to tackle the clutch on mine own tomorrow(i have no previous experience ) so it should be interesting but i did search and found a BUNCH of threads to walk me though the process and such. I am also picking the Chilton manual up after work while im out getting clutch fluid but i was wondering do i need any type of grease and what should i apply it to? The threads i looked at didn't go that into depth about that so im curious any help would be appreciated for this first timer!!

Thanks
Old 04-26-2005, 11:58 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: what to lube when doing clutch (Slow_CvC99)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by Slow_CvC99 &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">Well im going to try to tackle the clutch on mine own tomorrow(i have no previous experience ) so it should be interesting but i did search and found a BUNCH of threads to walk me though the process and such. I am also picking the Chilton manual up after work while im out getting clutch fluid but i was wondering do i need any type of grease and what should i apply it to? The threads i looked at didn't go that into depth about that so im curious any help would be appreciated for this first timer!!

Thanks </TD></TR></TABLE>

LIGHTLY grease the smooth section of the input shaft where the throw out bearing sits, the splines on the input shaft where it slides into the clutch, the pivot point on the release fork, and the two ends of the fork that contact the throw out bearing. Remember, DO NOT pile on the grease. LIGHT.
Old 04-26-2005, 12:08 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: what to lube when doing clutch (Hybrid93Eg)