Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

What exhaust system..

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2007, 05:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What exhaust system..

I'm basically new to this, but i have a '96 civic lx i want to add some things to it to make it more enjoyable.. i was thinking maybe intake and exhaust.... what would that require.. any help would be appreciated
Old 12-16-2007, 05:53 PM

Default Re: What exhaust system.. (klandard)

Before people go omg search noob.

that car has a soch d-series

the only way to make power with it is FI.

I/H/E is an easy way to upgrade, get some better gas mileage, and it ~could~ sound better... the small increase in hp isn't worth noticing...

imo, leave it stock... worry about suspension...

Old 12-16-2007, 06:33 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Wow, go easy there BPR, he asked a simple question.

To the OP, id say leave the motor stock for now, and focus on things that would make the car handle better, such as a good set of coilovers, maybe some strutbars, ect. If you want to get allot of power from the Non-vtec D-series motor, your going to have to look to forced induction.
THere are a few small things that would put a kick in your car's step so to speak. An Ex/Si tranny with a lightened flyhwheel would surely make your car feel a bit more quicker due to a lighter flywheel and shorter gears.
Intakes and exhaust's can only go so far (which isnt too much) in terms of performance on a single cam motor.
Old 12-16-2007, 06:56 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: What exhaust system.. (bpr0422)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by bpr0422 &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">Before people go omg search noob.

I/H/E is an easy way to upgrade, get some better gas mileage, and it ~could~ sound better... the small increase in hp isn't worth noticing...

imo, leave it stock... worry about suspension...