Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

What to do to clean up very bad oil buildup in my valve train?

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2003, 10:02 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What to do to clean up very bad oil buildup in my valve train?

I took my valve cover off to do a valve adjustment and the oil build up was bad. Well bad isn't even the word. There was an 1/8-1/4" oil build up on my rocker arms. I was wondering what kind of chemical i could poor in there to clean it up. I was then going to take off the valve cover and the oil pan and clean it really well and change all of the gaskets. Do i need to use honda bond? Also how hard is it too take of the oil pan? I've never done it before. Every one i talked to says if you have really bad buildup and then clean it if you don't clean the oil pan it will clog the oil pump and the engine wil sieze. What should i do?
Old 10-13-2003, 11:14 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: What to do to clean up very bad oil buildup in my valve train? (ramz7887)

Sounds like you may want to change your oil more often as well.
Old 10-13-2003, 11:45 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: What to do to clean up very bad oil buildup in my valve train? (HXMan)

I think i would rather it be caked on, than loose and running thru the engine.
Old 10-13-2003, 12:05 PM

Default Re: What to do to clean up very bad oil buildup in my valve train? (ramz7887)