Wanting to get new speakers for my car

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2014, 06:25 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wanting to get new speakers for my car

I have a 1999 honda civic ek and i was wanting to get new speakers,
Will something like this work? They'e fusion 6"2 way speakers
What does the 2 way even mean? is one speaker for the back of my can and one the front?
How do i install them, do i have to just cut the wire and connect it to the new one? Thanks for all replies as you can tell im a newbie
Old 05-10-2014, 06:35 PM
I never narc'd on nobody!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Wanting to get new speakers for my car

2 way means they have a woofer (normal speaker) and a tweeter. Most cheap speakers will be 2 way integrated, with the tweeter mounted in the middle of the cone (like the ones you pictured), whereas most quality speakers will be "true" 2 way, with a separated tweeter and a small box that separates the frequencies between the woofer and tweeter.

If you want to figure out what will natively fit in your door cars, Crutchfield has a great speaker finder tool. Tell it what car you have, and it'll tell you what speakers fit. As for the wiring, you shouldn't need to cut the OEM wires - just remove the spade connector from the OEM speaker, and reattach it to the new speaker. That being said, speakers aren't the only part of the equation. First, you need to make sure the power handling of the speaker is within the power output of your source (either the head unit you're using, or the amp, if you have one). Underpowering a speaker can blow it just as fast as overpowering it can. Once you've addressed that, you need to address the system as a whole. Your music will only sound as good as the lowest quality component, which after age will probably be your wiring.

You should probably check the AV/Security section - you should find some good information there.
Old 05-10-2014, 06:43 PM
Honda-Tech Member