Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

vss electrical test, is this correct?

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2011, 10:25 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon6 vss electrical test, is this correct?

So brief history. I got an EM1 and it already had a b20b swap done to it however the speedometer and odometer do not work. Turn the car on the the needle will flip up to 60mph then rest at 18mph. I got a code 17 and replaced the vss, code gone but still does the same thing. I know its not the vss being brand new and the fuse is good.
Ok so I just tested the wires. I dunno if I did it correctly cause im not good with electrical engine wise but I think I did. So there are 3 wires on the harness, black, black&Yellow, and blue &white. For the continuity test I took one lead to the harness and the other to the negative battery terminal. I had continuity on the black&yellow one of .008 and on the black of .008 as well. The black wire did not have any continuity. This is all done with the car off. As for the voltage I did the same way except instead of going to the negative battery terminal I used the positive. On the black wire I got 12.8, on the black&yellow I got 12.78 and on the blue&white I got .8
Old 07-13-2011, 08:47 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 44 Likes on 22 Posts
Default Re: vss electrical test, is this correct?

Blk/Yel wire voltage:
Unplug VSS and turn key to ON(II). Measure voltage between the Blk/Yel and Blk wire. Post result.

Blue/Wht wire continuity:
Unplug VSS and cluster. Turn key to OFF. Measure resistance (Ohms) of the Blu/Wht wire between the VSS and cluster connectors. Post result.
Old 07-13-2011, 01:51 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Im not sure what you mean by resistance of the blue between the vss and cluster connectors. how exactly do I do that?
Originally Posted by RonJ@HT
Blk/Yel wire voltage:
Unplug VSS and turn key to ON(II). Measure voltage between the Blk/Yel and Blk wire. Post result.