Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Vortech Spool?

Old 07-06-2003, 01:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Vortech Spool?

I am going with the vortech kit and would like to know at about what RPM does the kit start to spool at? Also with the stock BOV how does it sound, loud? The car is not going to be a daily driver car but with this kit the times I do drive it how is the kit and car on gas? Also I have a list of mods below that i am going to get with the kit and want to make sure that I need all of the stuff listed below. I am new to the honda / S/C scene so any help would be great.

Vortech Supercharger Kit
SKUNK2 INTAKE MANIFOLD
SKUNK2 CAM GEARS
AEM Fuel rail
GREDDY FUEL INJECTORS
Crower Rods
JE Pistons
Greddy Headers and greddy evo cat-back

Thanks again.
Old 07-06-2003, 01:07 PM
senior gold member

Default Re: Vortech Spool? (icantthinkofaname)

why not just get a turbo? the vortech kit is consisted of a centrifugal(sp) supercharger. IMO the same thing as a turbo. And the vortech is more. I haven't seen any good dynos of vortech cars.
Old 07-06-2003, 01:13 PM

Default Re: Vortech Spool? (Ivan)

Turbo's r more strain on the motor right? If I am going to do that then I have to bore and sleeve or just sleeve to hold the boost. I can run the kit on stock boost but after so long your going to want to turn that damn thing up and see what you can make. I am trying to find the more effective and reliable boost for the car.

Thanks for the input

p.s. is it just me or after a few posts and replys it will not allow you till like 24 hours?
Old 07-06-2003, 01:15 PM
Honda-Tech Member

hmmm...im not quite sure, but since its a s/c i think its instantaneous. because the SC is pully driven. an not exhaust driven. so yeah.

EDIT: just wait 15-20 days i think. and then u can post all you want.
Old 07-06-2003, 01:34 PM
senior gold member

Default Re: Vortech Spool? (JUN EK9)