Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

very odd gauge cluster light issues

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2013, 08:20 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon3 very odd gauge cluster light issues

hey guys been lurking here for years but finally found a question that i could not find an answer to from searching.
a little background: i have a 93 with a b16a2 with bolt ons. im running s300 on p72, dx wiring harness with rywire vtec subharness. eventually going to be using this car for hpde events and auto-x

hopefully someone here can help...

my check engine light does not come on with ignition on anymore. (i am a smog technician and have a habit of making sure the MIL works every time i start a car)
one day it worked and one day it didnt basically.
ive replaced the bulb with known good bulbs so i know the bulb is not the problem. ive also shorted the diagnostic connector just to see if the MIL would illuminate and it didnt.
ive checked the wires on the plugs at the back of cluster and everything looks good.
ive checked all fuses and grounds and everything is good.

so the wierd part - now my cruise control light stays on at all times (i dont have cruise control). i can easily just remove the Cruise Control bulb but id still like to know why it is even illuminated in the first place, as this makes me think something is not hooked up properly..
first i thought i screwed something up and the cruise control was basically acting as the MIL however i have no codes through hondata s300..

my questions are: why the heck is cruise control illuminated? and what would cause the check engine light to randomly stop functioning?

any and all help is appreciated, thank you.
Old 09-09-2013, 11:04 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: very odd gauge cluster light issues

Karma?? Lol just messin with ya have you tried a different cluster?
Old 09-09-2013, 11:21 PM
Honda-Tech Member