Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

valve adjustment questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2009, 06:12 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 valve adjustment questions

did an adjustment the other day. now the engine idles poorly, struggles a bit at low rpm, and is rougher than usual at high rpm. my guess is that i need to loosen the screws a bit rather than tighten, but i am not sure. this is my first time doing an adjustment, and i used the mid-range specs to check them (.008 intake, .010 exhaust with slight drag..maybe too much drag??). hayne's manual was followed thoroughly, though judging proper drag is the most difficult part.

thoughts and suggestions? are those symptoms generally those of tight adjustment or loose adjustment or both?? there is no clicking/tapping to indicate loose adjustment..

more importantly, how long does it take for the engine to be sufficiently cold to do the adjustment? what if i open the hood and take off the valve cover..about how long then? i know it is recommended to just leave the car overnight, but i dont wanna risk messing up the adjustment at 6 in the morning before work..

thanks in advance!!
Old 08-24-2009, 06:20 AM

Default Re: valve adjustment questions

Yes leave it to cool overnight, and your valves are to tight.
Old 08-24-2009, 07:42 AM
Honda-Tech Member

yea, sounds like the valves are not closing all the way so you are losing compression. Re-adjust with less lash.
Old 08-24-2009, 07:59 AM
Honda-Tech Member

alright, cool thanks guys. i will try this. i guess i will have to wake up birght and early

so just trying to understand how it works..how do u lose compression? with having more lash, the valves open more (lower) i guess, and do u lose some pressure from giving air more time to escape or something like it? i am a bit confused..
Old 08-24-2009, 08:02 AM
Honda-Tech Member