Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Upgrading my ECU, but what next?

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2013, 02:54 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Upgrading my ECU, but what next?

Im kind of new here, so I apologize if this is a noobish style thread... I'm somewhat new to the world of upgrading an engine and I am currently interested in building my D16y8 without using turbo (for now) and so far I'm at the stage of just doing the bolt-ons (I/H/E). So far I've managed to install an intake (Password JDM carbon fibor intake) which probably seems ALOT more than necessary. And a catback exhaust BUT I still have a stock header. Right now I'm waiting on receiving a DC stainless steel 2 piece headers and was interested in upgrading my ECU. I have very little education on what ECU to get for my D16y8 and was wondering what were my options for the time being.

I know that I don't have much to gain at this point since I haven't messed with the Pistons and basically the overall engine..but maybe someone can shine a light of what I can get with the ECU at least? I know it depends what you want and all...but what's good for the time being..if there is a certain setting maybe? Help.

Just as an addition, I know people ask "What do you want out of your engine?"....My response is "Make simple power" I guess?
Old 04-12-2013, 03:08 AM
B*a*n*n*e*d

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: Upgrading my ECU, but what next?

Before you go diving into the tuning options, where you do live? If you're anywhere that requires a plug-in scan for inspection (all of California, as well as most major cities and surrounding areas), just stop right now. Every enhancement option will make you fail that, period.