Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Underdrive crank pulley

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2002, 03:08 PM
New User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Underdrive crank pulley

First, if you don't have anything useful to say don't bother posting b/c you're wasting my time and yours.......

Now, I have a 2000 Si, am getting ready to have the belt changed (82Kmiles) b/c i'm going to be driving cross country and don't want to have any problems with the belt breaking. Now, I have a little knowledge on pulleys, but believe me I'm no expert. What I want to know is 1) Is one crank pulley REALLY any better than the next....(UR, TopSpeed, OEM N1)....I mean they're all made of aluminum and I would assume they're all the same diameter, right? 2)Are they worth the money?

Please only post useful information. Don't compare brands if you've only owned/ used one particular brand. Just honest reviews and knowledge that you're willing to share.

Thanks

[Modified by BLUE MENACE, 6:11 PM 3/29/2002]
Old 03-29-2002, 04:00 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Underdrive crank pulley (BLUE MENACE)

don't get one....unless it is harmonically balanced you will eventually warp your crank...besides that wonderfull risk...you have no power gain, and marginal at best throttle reponse increase to look forward to.

IMO if you want to get a lighter crank pully, get the CTR one (if your DOHC) or none at all.
Old 03-29-2002, 05:28 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

i beleive the OEM pulley is best balanced for ur motor..if i were to change pulleys id look into one for the AC or generator
Old 03-29-2002, 08:01 PM
New User

Have you read this? https://honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=143903
Old 03-29-2002, 09:25 PM
New User

Default Re: Underdrive crank pulley (wantmorepower)