Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

turbo goodness

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2007, 05:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default turbo goodness

hey all, im a noob when it comes to aftermarket honda. but what all would be needed to run 7 lbs boost at most. would i need bigger injectors, high flow fuel pump, exhaust and ECU reprogram, or could all the factory stuff support it with that little boost?
Old 10-17-2007, 06:05 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: turbo goodness (jonnyboo)

7psi is subjectable to the size of the turbo. On smaller turbo, yes, on a bigger one, probably not.

For arguments sake we'll say you're using a mid-sizer.

It'll be running the **** out of the injectors as well as the fuel pump.

They'll both die out relatively fast. I would swap them, but whatever. The PSI isn't what will run the power out - it's the HP you're making. Also, a 255lph walbro is only like 80 bucks if I remember correctly, that and some old DSM injectors and you'll be pumpin fuel wise.

As for the ECU, you will need a tunable ECU, there's basically three routes you can go with this, you can either A) Chip an ECU and run a program like crome, neptune, etc. on it, B) Buy a standalone ECU such as an AEM EMS or Hondata which is again, fully tunable, or C) Cheapest and worst way to manage it, use hacks and missing links and crap to run rich and with a hack job of a tune pray you don't toss a rod (not recommended).

I'd chip the ECU - just because it's easy, you won't get optimal anything outta hack job street tuning with missing links 'n ****, and a standalone system like hondata is pretty extreme for low boost apps IMO. I'd go with a chipped OBD and a conversion harness if applicable.