Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Trying to fix my car. heres my compression test (now whats wrong)

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2006, 09:38 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Trying to fix my car. heres my compression test (now whats wrong)

1st, 180

2nd, 150

3rd, 175

4th, 165

what could that mean is wrong with my car
Old 02-14-2006, 10:00 PM
Honda-Tech Member

bump

the reason im posting this is because whenever i push my clutch in the car will just drop and go all the way to 0-100rpm and it shakes real real bad and then since it drops down so much the battery light starts poping on then sometimes it actually just dies and other times i just got to rev it high and get going again. once im driving its tottaly fine

im not good with cars yet and was wondering if the compression is fine and what the problem could be so i could fix this soon!!
Old 02-14-2006, 10:03 PM

if your saying it happens when your trying to take off from a stop im going to say its not the car its you not knowing how to drive
Old 02-14-2006, 10:04 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Re: (central_driver)

Do a valve adjustment and then redo the numbers.

But i dont think your problem has anything to do with your compression, sure number 2 is low but ive seen motors run off lower. Check your alternator and maybe do a tune up.
Old 02-14-2006, 10:11 PM
Honda-Tech Member

yea the alternator is a bosch, it looks brand new so i doubt its that. and im getting all new spark plugs, spark plug wires (all NGK) and also new distriutor cap and rotor and replacing my headers since they have a crack but that crack wouldnt case this big of a problem. other then that how much does a valve adjustment cost or is it easy to do? if it is i no a buddy that could possibly do it
Old 02-14-2006, 10:17 PM

might be your coil inside your distributor
Old 02-14-2006, 10:29 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts