Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Troubleshoot Engine Bay Noise

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2003, 08:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Troubleshoot Engine Bay Noise

Okay, first off, thanks in advance to any replies - I'm a newb with cars, so I need all the help I can get so I don't have to go pay a mechanic too much money (that I don't have )

The car: 1992 Civic Si Hatchback (D16Z6)

Problem: Odd noise from the engine bay, began while I was already driving the car for more than 15 mins. A "rattling/grinding/screeching" sound mixed with a rough "whirring" noise. Begins 1-2 seconds after the engine is started up. Noise occurs in gear and in neutral with the engine cold or hot (the noise does not seem to go away if the engine is at operating temp).

Observations: I can start the car up with no problem and drive it (but I haven't since the noise disturbs me - don't want to cause unnecessary damage). The car shifts fine, but the noise is always there.

I just changed the distributor cap and rotor (Niehoff), spark plug wires (NGK OEM replacements), and spark plugs (NGK V-Powers) last night. The car starts up much better than before, but didn't change the presence of the odd noise.

I'm the third owner of the car, having bought it about 8 months ago. It drove fine when I got it, but other than fluid changes, I don't think that many of the mechanical aspects of the car have been maintained as well as they could have (ie. problems fixed when the rose versus preventative maintenance). So, I'm thinking of doing a valve adjustment soon, as well as possibly replacing belts.