Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Transmission and Engine Swap - how difficult?

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2012, 11:03 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Transmission and Engine Swap - how difficult?

I have a 98 Civic LX and I am completely new to swaps, I have never done one and was wondering how difficult they are. I have the tools, and I've fixed many things on her, but just recently I've started looking at getting a new transmission, because its getting harder to shift. If I get a new transmission would it be wise of me to just bite the bullet and get a new engine, too, or should I put that off until absolutely necessary, or even just rebuild it? It has 211k on it and it's only been driven hard five or six times for a few minutes tops (was my mom's from new). I've been looking at some threads and some talk about buying new ECUs and wiring harnesses...
ANY insight would be much appreciated from this NOOB.

If I'm in the completely wrong place, I'm sorry, will someone link to me where I should be?

Thanks!
Old 11-04-2012, 12:55 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Transmission and Engine Swap Help

At 211k I wouldn't be in a rush to get a new engine. That's not bad for a Honda. My 98 civic ex had 350k and I kept up with oil changes/maintenance and she ever failed me(I beat on her at least 3 times a week )

Just change your transmission if necessary, maybe get a new clutch, pressure plate, and throw out bearing since you'll have the transmission out. And give her a tune up/oil change.
Old 11-04-2012, 03:56 AM
Technical Hero

Received 28 Likes on 20 Posts

5 speed or auto?
Old 11-04-2012, 12:16 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by HondaPartsHero
5 speed or auto?
This, I'm assuming your car is a manual lol.
Old 11-05-2012, 01:38 AM
Honda-Tech Member

It's a manual. Any good places to get decent price on the parts?
Old 11-05-2012, 04:18 AM
Honda-Tech Member