Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

transmission, clutch, and suspension questions

Old 02-21-2007, 10:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default transmission, clutch, and suspension questions

Hey what's up everyone?

I'm new to Honda Tech and I really need some help. I just crashed my 94 civic coupe DX about a week ago. I had put a b16a from a SiR and with all the work i did, it has about 220 hp so it was a fun little car to drive. The engine turned out to be ok from the accident but i needed another car. So i decided to buy a 95 civic VX hatchback to swap it into. I'm fixing this car up as my daily driver and I have a few questions:

1) I need a new transmission. Besides being cracked, the gears are grinding and was told the synchros are going. I had called Gear-Speed and talked this guy James and he said that I would have to send them mine to re-build or he could sell me a brand new Type R tranny from Acura for $2200 bucks. I have a Y21 on there now, but I wanted one with an LSD also so i'm not sure what to do and Im really pressed for time on the engine swap.

2) I also need to replace the clutch as well. I was looking into getting a Exedy Stage 2 clutch kit with light weight flywheel. The website says that one for a 99-00 si, 94-01 integra, or 94-97 del sol will fit the tranny that i have now, but not sure if it will fit the type R? And won't all b-series trannys fit on all b-series motors? Just kinda figured the clutch kit would be the same. I might have to contact exedy about that one.