Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Towing with an EK Civic

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2012, 02:24 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Towing with an EK Civic

With fuel prices increasing the Civic has become even more popular. A lot of people are getting rid of big trucks/SUVs in favor of the more economical Civic, however there is still a need to haul stuff around. I am starting this thread because I'm one of those people. I have a 97 Civic hatch that I use as a commuter car. I drive 120 miles a day for my work commute. I also have a teardrop camper and a Thule 4x7 trailer. The question is not whether I can tow. I've been doing it for four years and it is very safe with my setup. Here is some data I pulled from an online source:

"I have been looking at Honda web sites in New Zealand, Germany, United Kingdom and Italy. All rate the tow capacity for the Honda civic at around 1200 kg, that is about 2500 lbs. UK caravan clubs(campers) say it's a great tow car. Only in the United States the civic is not rated for towing. Same car, same frame, same construction. Also, U-haul rates it for 2000 lbs with a class one hitch." Here is data to back up the claim:

Note: specs listed below are in Kilograms, multiply by 2.2 to get pounds.

Germany
Honda | Automobile | Home
Anhängelast gebremst, kg 1.200

United Kingdom
Honda Civic Type S | Book Test Drive | Specification, Finance & Information
Maximum towing weight with brakes (kg) 1200
Maximum towing weight without brakes (kg) 500

Italy
http://www.honda.it/car/media/pdf/In...ypeS_TypeR.pdf
Massa a secco/ Massa in ordine di marcia (kg) 1227/1317 1272/1366

New Zealand
Welcome to Honda New Zealand
Maximum warrantable towing weight (kg) 1200 (Man)
1000 (Auto)

And if you are worried about your brakes, think of this, at 65 mph it takes the same force to stop your civic as it does at 50 MPH with a 2000 lb trailer. Simple physics Force = 1/2Mass x Velocity squared.