Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

tierods (ins and outs)

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2009, 01:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default tierods (ins and outs)

oh my poor little acura el been sitting in my parking space on jackstands for the last 6 weeks.

I got my end out of the steering knuckle, but I can't loosen the jam-nut and I have had no luck taking off the inner and outer together. I have tried using locking pliers and a clamp to hold the inner and try to loosen the jamnut but its too tight. I removed the boot on the inner and I see no way of getting a tool in there to loosen that from the rack. I'm just really really stuck. I don't want to admit defeat but I'm running out of ideas. Goddamn my ego has been shattered on this one. I'm just a noob mechanic but its still embarassing. Someone please walk me through this.
Old 07-03-2009, 01:04 PM

Default Re: tierods (ins and outs)

If you cannot undo the bolt with your current tools you aren't likely going to be able to do it at all. In my experience these particular jam nuts and bolts are next to impossible to remove unless you have pneumatic tools and a lift. These bolts are torqued down very hard and are in a very difficult location to get at so, your best bet may be to take your car to a local garage and have them unbolt the tie rods.

You will have to take it to a garage to get it aligned after your removal and replacement so, maybe you can work a deal out with the garage. Maybe they will help with the removal if they are guaranteed of an alignment.
Old 07-03-2009, 01:05 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

This is how it's done in general for the outer tie rod: https://honda-tech.com/forums/honda-civic-del-sol-1992-2000-1/faq-tie-rod-end-replacement-2333340/