Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Thinking about changing exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2009, 02:29 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thinking about changing exhaust

hey guys im thinkin about changing my exhaust to a aftermarket one. my civic is basically oem i plan on getting or try to get SI bumpers,sideskirts,lip,new gauges. my civic is a 00 ex 2dr auto. i know auto isnt very good but the fact that when i bought the car i didnt know how to drive a manual and i was working at the time played a huge part in me picking it up.
Edit: i wont have the cash till xmas to grab all the stuff. so whats a good aftermarket exhaust for a decent price that will up my hp a bit. also i would need some1 to help me change it due to the fact that I have no experience changing exhaust or anything.
Edit2: I just found out when i bent my control arm (getting it fixed right now) my timing belt and water pump need to be changed so i wont be able to grab it before xmas.
Edit3: I dont want a exhaust kit that sounds like ***. as in loud and obnoxious.
Old 11-25-2009, 03:25 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Thinking about changing exhaust

IMO, doing much of anything for HP gains with the Auto trans is useless. Not to mention an exhaust that has a nice tone to it will sound like crap on an Auto.

I would focus on doing an Auto to Manual swap if your really wanting to do anything. Instead of dumping $400-$800 bucks or so on an exhaust. Do the conversion.

The manual will be quicker in stock form, alot more fun to drive, chances of tranny problems are alot more slim, and its a much better platform to build off of than the Auto.

Thats just my opinion for what its worth.
Old 11-25-2009, 03:42 PM
Honda-Tech Member

I agree with Matt93eg. my car was a 2000 civic Ex just like yours and i can vouch that for the price of a full exhaust you can get all the parts together for a auto - manual swap.