Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Temp guage gremlin

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2004, 10:31 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Temp guage gremlin

Yes, I did a search already

A little history! Just bought a 97' Civic HB CX. The p/o had rigged some things, most of which I have fixed already. Stupid me, when test driving the car, etc. the temp guage was just below half way. I thought cool. Well after driving it for a week, I realized the temp guage never moved at all. Even with the car off, it stayed in that position. Long story short, after chasing down some other gremlins in the instrument panel, I got the guage to move. Now though, you turn the car on and it climbs up just under HOT, and never moves whether the car is on or off. Any ideas on whether it would be the guage itself, sending unit maybe? There seems to be several temp sensors. Any help is appreciated! I may be a NOOB here, but I've had a CRX in the past and am pretty competent when it comes to fixin' my miata! Thanks!

Also, i need a dimmer switch for the instument panel lights. Do you have any suggestions on the best place to get parts. I checked several junk yards and have yet to find one. I used the dimmer switch from my wife's Accord and the instrument panel lights worked. I'm also in need of the interior panel that covers the bottom part of the hatch back. Thanks!
Old 06-27-2004, 11:29 AM

Default Re: Temp guage gremlin (SharpieinTX)